Other Tools
  IPC::Locker
  Parallel::Forker
  Voneline
General Info
  Papers

Trouble simulating altera-generated floating point units

Added by Evan Andersen 19 days ago

It is my first time using verilator. I wrote a simple program to test the floating point units generated by altera's tool. Add and multiply work great, but the divide circuit produces the wrong result. I believe it's related to memory, as the divider circuit uses them as look up tables.

I've attached a small demo folder to show the problem. It creates an adder, multiplier, and divider, gives them all the same static inputs, and then sims for 50 clocks to get the answer.

Input: 3.5 and 2.0

When I run the simulation, I get:

Add: 5.500000
Mult: 7.000000
Div: 1.000000

The first two being correct, the divider being wrong (correct is 1.75). When I run the simulation with altera-modelsim, I get the correct answer.

What is wrong here? I did have to use -Wno-fatal as it generates a ton of warnings. However, many of the warnings I investigated proved to be innocuous (and in fact part of altera's libs - quartus prints them as well during synthesis!). Perhaps someone more familiar with Verilator could provide some insight here. I used the scripts from https://github.com/twosigma/verilator_support to convert the altera libraries.

Replies (6)

RE: Trouble simulating altera-generated floating point units - Added by Wilson Snyder 18 days ago

Glad you're giving Verilator a try. It's most likely something simple, perhaps with a hint buried in a warning as you suggest.

I would suggest making a waves dump under both simulators and tracing forwards the major signals until you see a difference and the culprit signal. If the problem still isn't evident a small (~~100 line) failing test is closer to the size that I would be able to find the time to debug.

RE: Trouble simulating altera-generated floating point units - Added by Evan Andersen 17 days ago