Other Tools
  IPC::Locker
  Parallel::Forker
  Voneline
General Info
  Papers

Verilator fails to warn/error on procedural assignment to wire

Added by Neil Turton about 5 years ago

I have been developing a project using Verilator for a couple of years and during that time, Verilator has been great. I then came to port the project to the Xilinx tool chain and found that my Verilog code was somewhat less than perfect. :-) The Xilinx tools reported various problems which could have been spotted by Verilator. In all of these cases, I hadn't noticed the problem because Verilator did what I wanted the code to do. This isn't a support request as I have corrected my code.

Are you interested in this kind of thing? Is this the right place to report them?

I reduced these down to 7 different cases as follows:

error1:  Procedural assignment to a wire
error3:  Implicit wire before explicit declaration
error4:  Operator ++ not recognised
error5:  Assignment in an output declaration
error6:  ANSI declaration followed by reg declaration
error7:  Always block has no sensitivity list
error8:  Reg variable used in an output/inout port connection

[error2 is a duplicate of error1, so not included]

I have attached the verilog to reproduce error1. The problem here is that there is a procedural assignment to a wire. The variable "out" should be declared as a reg or logic.

error1.v - Example procedural assignment to wire (307 Bytes)

Replies (7)

RE: Verilator fails to warn/error on procedural assignment to wire - Added by Peter Gerst about 1 year ago

Hi Neil,

I have been facing with the same problem 4 years after your post. verilator (used with --lint-only) does not signal procedural assignment on a wire. Nor continuous assignment on a reg. It is not that critical but I am curious about anything you may got on this issue. Did you find a way to overcome this?

BR, Peter

RE: Verilator fails to warn/error on procedural assignment to wire - Added by Neil Turton about 1 year ago